
The Peter Wentz Farmstead is a restored 18th-century historic site and working farm, first settled by Peter and Rosanna Wentz in 1744. The house, built in 1758, is a remarkably unique example of colonial Pennsylvania German architecture and design. It is furnished throughout with period-accurate objects representing the types of items the Wentz family may have owned. Visitors to the Farmstead will see the house as it would have appeared in 1777, when General George Washington and his staff used the property as a temporary headquarters. After the Wentz family sold the farm to Devault Bieber, it was then purchased in 1794 by Schwenkfelder reverend Melchior Schultz. Generations of the Schultz family continued to live and farm here until 1969, when Montgomery County purchased the property. The farm buildings, livestock, and kitchen garden represent early Pennsylvania German farming culture and practices typical to this region.
The Farmstead offers plenty of fun, educational events and programming throughout the year, including living history demonstrations, workshops, nature programs, and much more. The historic house is open for guided tours year-round.
Venue Type: Historic Building/Landmark; Museum; Park/Garden
ALBUQUERQUE LITTLE THEATRE
Cheese Coffee Caf Downtown
Liu Chinese Fast Food
Vinaigrette
Garcias Kitchen The Original
Route 66 Malt Shop
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
Liu Chinese Fast Food
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
Liu Chinese
Vinaigrette
Handicap Parking Lot is accessible through our Service Entrance off of Schultz Road. Follow the gravel road towards the stone barn and park in the lot there. For assistance, please call 610-584-5104.
Accessible restrooms in the Visitors’ Center.
The Visitors’ Center and first floor of the Historic House are accessible to most wheelchairs. The second floor of the house is not accessible to people with mobility issues.
Main Parking Lot is accessible from our Main Entrance off Shearer Road.
Handicap Parking Lot is accessible through our Service Entrance off of Schultz Road. Follow the gravel road towards the stone barn and park in the lot there. For assistance, please call 610-584-5104.
Tuesday – Saturday
10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Sunday
1 p.m. – 4 p.m.
Closed Mondays and Holidays
Last tours start at 3:00 pm
Free, suggested donation $2.